The An die Musik Award is The Schubert Club’s highest honor. It’s presented annually to one classical music enthusiast whose outstanding dedication and commitment over many years has significantly furthered the work and mission of The Schubert Club. It is announced and presented at The Schubert Club’s Annual Meeting. The award is named after Schubert’s setting of Franz von Schober’s poem.
An die Musik D. 547
Du holde Kunst, in wieviel grauen Stunden,
Wo mich des Lebens wilder Kreis umstrickt,
Hast du mein Herz zu warmer Lieb’ entzunden,
Hast mich in eine bess’re Welt entrückt!
Oft hat ein Seufzer, deiner Harf’ entflossen,
Ein süßer, heiliger Akkord von dir
Den Himmel bess’rer Zeiten mir erschlossen,
Du holde Kunst, ich danke dir dafür!
To Music D. 547
O blessed art, how often in dark hours,
when the savage ring of life tightens round me,
have you kindled warm love in my heart,
have transported me to a better world!
Often a sigh has escaped from your harp,
a sweet, sacred harmony of yours
has opened up the heavens to better times for me,
O blessed art, I thank you for that!
An Die Musik Award Winners
2000 Elizabeth Musser
Mary Ann Feldman
Gilman Ordway
Sarah-Maud Weyerhaeuser Sivertsen
George M. Reid
Dr. Arthur Kaemmer
Michael Steinberg, Eric Friesen and Jack Forsythe
Thelma Hunter
2008 Dominick Argento
2009 Sharon Carlson
2010 Dr. James P. Callahan
2011 Julie Himmelstrup
2012 Dee Ann Crossley
2013 Joanna Kirby
2014 Arlene Didier
2015 Lucy Jones