Loading Events

FREE Courtroom Concert: Dream Songs Project

Thursday, January 12, 12:00PM

Landmark Center, Cortile

Hosted by composer Abbie Betinis, our popular Courtroom Concerts take place at noon most Thursdays in the Landmark Center in downtown Saint Paul. This series features accomplished musicians and composers from the Twin Cities and surrounding area, as well as occasional musical newcomers to the area. These one-hour concerts are free and open to the public.

About the Artists:

Since forming in 2010, the dream songs project has engaged audiences through performances of a diverse repertoire. With a dedication to the creation of new music, the duo has commissioned and premiered dozens of new works. Their performances have been called “suffused with passion” (Star Tribune), “assertive and compelling” (Chicago Classical Review), “superb…clean and colorful” (Minnesota Public Radio). TDSP‘s artistic mission is to connect, challenge, and inspire while bringing together performers, audiences, and composers through high quality chamber music concerts.

In 2020, TDSP was awarded the Chamber Music America Classical Commissioning Project grant for a new song cycle by Dale Trumbore, X Marks the Dress. The premiere performance will take place in the Twin Cities in October 2022. In 2011, TDSP released its first recording, Mauro Giuliani: Songs for Voice and Guitar. They can be heard on the 2018 Centaur Records release of works by Justin Rubin, Variations on Life & Loss, as well as on the studio recording of FEATHERMUCKER produced by composer Ted Moore.

TDSP has performed concerts throughout the U.S. including the Ear Taxi Festival (Chicago), Pittsburgh Festival of New Music, Twin Cities New Music Festival, American Composers Forum Showcase, Minnesota Public Radio Class Notes, Minnesota Guitar Society, Thursday Musical Artist Series, Macalester College Noon Concert Series, the Schubert Club Courtroom Concert Series, and Zeitgeist’s New Music Cabaret.

 The ensemble is currently working on a recording of contemporary voice and guitar music by Minnesota composers, featuring works by Daniel Nass, Christopher Gable, and Katherine Bergman.