Loading Events

Artaria String Quartet – Virtual Courtroom Concert

Thursday, May 6, 12:00PM
Sunday, June 6, 1:00PM

How to Watch

This concert will be available to stream on the date of the performance on this page, our Youtube page, and on our Facebook page. Please contact us at 651-292-3268 or at [email protected] if you have any questions about our virtual concerts.

Our virtual concerts are free to watch and available to all. No ticket reservation necessary. If you’d like to applaud this performance with a donation, please visit schubert.org/donate.

[button color=”accent-color” hover_text_color_override=”#fff” size=”large” url=”https://schubert.org/faq-for-concerts-affected-by-covid-19/” text=”Virtual Concert FAQs” color_override=””]

About the Program: 

Described as an “exceptional ensemble with impressive confidence in its interpretations,” the Artaria String Quartet’s refined and thoughtful playing has brought them to major venues throughout the United States and Europe, and has earned them numerous awards. Their program will feature Carlos Simon’s An Elegy: A Cry from the Grave and Franz Schubert’s Quartet No. 15 in G Major, D.887.

A Note from the Composer:

This piece is an artistic reflection dedicated to those who have been murdered wrongfully by an oppressive power; namely Trayvon Martin, Eric Garner and Michael Brown. The stimulus for this composing piece came as a result of prosecuting attorney Robert McCulloch announcing that a selected jury had decided not to indict police officer, Daren Wilson after fatally shooting an unarmed teenager, Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri.

The evocative nature of the piece draws on strong lyricism and a lush harmonic charter. A melodic idea is played in all the voices of the ensemble at some point of the piece either whole or fragmented. The recurring ominous motif represents the cry of those struck down unjustly in this country. While the predominant essence of the piece is sorrowful and contemplative, there are moments of extreme hope represented by bright consonant harmonies.

~Carlos Oliver Simon Jr. (2015)

[button color=”accent-color” hover_text_color_override=”#fff” size=”large” url=”https://schubert.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/AdM5_20-21-DIGITAL01.pdf” text=”An Die Musik: Digital Program Book” color_override=””]