The Schubert Club’s Music in the Park Series welcomes the return of the St. Lawrence String Quartet on Sunday, April 19, 2015, 4:00 p.m., at St. Anthony Park United Church of Christ. Celebrating its 25th anniversary, the St. Lawrence String Quartet performs over 120 concerts annually worldwide and calls Stanford University home, where the group is Ensemble in Residence. Their varied program for Music in the Park Series will feature the Minnesota premiere of the “Second String Quartet,” written especially for the St. Lawrence String Quartet by American composer John Adams, two quartets by Joseph Haydn – regarded as the “father” of the string quartet form – and “Allaqi,” a work based on Inuit folk music by Marcus Goddard.

St. Lawrence String Quartet


The St. Lawrence String Quartet (SLSQ) has established itself among the world-class chamber ensembles of its generation. Its mission: bring every piece of music to the audience in vivid color, with pronounced communication and teamwork, and great respect to the composer. Since winning both the Banff International String Quartet Competition and Young Concert Artists International Auditions in 1992, the quartet has delighted audiences with its spontaneous, passionate, and dynamic performances. Alex Ross of the New Yorker magazine writes, “the St. Lawrence are remarkable not simply for the quality of their music making, exalted as it is, but for the joy they take in the act of connection.”

Whether playing Haydn or premiering a new work, the SLSQ has a rare ability to bring audiences to rapt attention. They reveal surprising nuances in familiar repertoire and illuminate the works of some of today’s most celebrated composers, often all in the course of one evening. John Adams has written two critically-acclaimed works expressly for the quartet, including “String Quartet” (2009) and “Absolute Jest” (2012), which they premiered with the San Francisco Symphony in 2012. In 2011, SLSQ premiered “Qohelet,” a work by Osvaldo Golijov, also composed for them.

Since 1998 the SLSQ has held the position of Ensemble in Residence at Stanford University. This residency includes working with music students as well as extensive collaborations with other faculty and departments using music to explore myriad topics. Recent collaborations have involved the School of Medicine, School of Education, and the Law School. In addition to their appointment at Stanford, the SLSQ are visiting artists in residence at Arizona State University at Tempe. The foursome’s passion for opening up musical arenas to players and listeners alike is evident in their annual summer chamber music seminar at Stanford and their many forays into the depths of musical meaning with preeminent music educator Robert Kapilow.

Lesley Robertson and Geoff Nuttall are founding members of the group, and hail from Edmonton, Alberta, and London, Ontario, respectively. Christopher Costanza is from Utica, NY, and joined the group in 2003. Mark Fewer, a native of Newfoundland, begins his first season with the quartet in 2014, succeeding violinist Scott St. John. All four members of the quartet live and teach at Stanford, in the Bay Area of California.

Geoff Nuttall

Hailed by the New York Times as “intensely dynamic” with “stunning technique and volitality,” violinist Geoff Nuttall began playing the violin at the age of eight after moving to London, Ontario from College Station, Texas. He spent most of his musical studies under the tutelage of Lorand Fenyves at The Banff Centre, the University of Western Ontario, and the University of Toronto, where he received his bachelor of arts. read more at

Mark Fewer

Described as “genre-bending” by the National Post, and “intrepid” by the Globe and Mail, Mark Fewer has performed around the world to critical acclaim in virtually every role asked of a violinist – and then some. His regular musical diet includes performances from the early baroque to the avant-garde, with recent performances as soloist with groups as wide-ranging as the Melbourne Symphony (Australia), the Fodens-Richardson Brass Band (UK), the Zapp Quartet (Amsterdam), and the McGill Percussion Ensemble (Canada). He is also a dedicated chamber musician, jazz violinist, artistic director, and teacher. read more at

Lesley Robertson

A graduate of both the Curtis Institute and the Juilliard School, Lesley Robertson, viola, hails from Edmonton, Alberta and currently lives in California where, along with the St. Lawrence String Quartet she is Artist- in-Residence at Stanford University. read more at

Christopher Costanza

For over two decades cellist Christopher Costanza has enjoyed a varied and exciting career as a soloist, chamber musician, and teacher. A winner of the Young Concert Artists International Auditions and a recipient of a prestigious Solo Recitalists Grant from the National Endowment for the Arts, Mr. Costanza has performed to wide critical acclaim in nearly every state in the U.S., and in Canada, Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Australia, New Zealand, China, Korea, Germany, France, the U.K., Italy, Spain, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Romania, and Hungary. read more at


Sunday, April 19, 2015 at 4:00pm
Saint Anthony Park United Church of Christ

Concert length is estimated to be 2 hours with one intermission.

Join us at 3:00pm for a pre-concert talk.

If you have tickets but are unable to attend, please consider turning back your tickets as a tax-deductible contribution. Your generosity allows other music lovers to attend our sold out concerts.
Turnback tickets online or call 651.292.3268 at least one hour prior to the concert


Joseph Haydn:  Quartet in F Minor, Opus 20, No. 5
John Adams:  Second Quartet
Marcus Goddard:  Allaqi for String Quartet (composed for SLSQ in 2009)
Haydn:  Quartet in C Major, Opus 76, No. 3, Emperor




...the St. Lawrence String Quartet performed works by Haydn, Beethoven, and Osvaldo Golijov with an irresistible exuberance, linking that sense of joy with artistry of subtlety and finesse.

Boston Globe

The celebrating its 20th anniversary, and its energy and commitment haven’t flagged. It has consistently demonstrated a vigorous and original approach to both standard repertory and new music.

New York Times